Banks County, Georgia


Organized 1796 by John Newton.


Founding members:


James Ramsey

James McCarter

Anthony Story

Major Edward Story

William Thomas

Richard Woods

Robert Mercer

William McCracken

Davic Clark

Benjamin Love

Berry Battles

_____ Trimble

William Robinson

Andrew Caruthers

James Caruthers

Richard Kain

Colonel James Little

Thomas Story

William Little

James H. Esq.


*Note-The wife of William Thomas was Nancy Caruthers, sister of Andrew and James Caruthers. The Caruthers brothers, as well as William Thomas, were from North Carolina, and had been Revulolutionary Soldiers. A few years after their settlement at Hebron, Andrew and James Caruthers moved to Tennessee, where Andrew joined the Baptist Church and became a Preacher.

Source: Hebron and It's People by Rev. Groves H. Cartledge


Pastors and Students of Hebron Presbyterian Church


Thomas Newton 1799-1817 (Brother of John Newton)

John Harrison (Supply) 1819-1823

David Humphries 1823-1825

David Hazelit 1825-1829

Robert McAlpine (Supply) 1830-1834

H. C. Carter 1835

James C. Freeman 1836-1841

Henry Newton 1845-1851

Groves H. Cartledge 1852-1899

W. L. Barber 1899-1906

J. D. McPhail (Supply) 1911-1914

I. W. Waddell 1914-1922

W. E. Crane (Supply) 1924

J. C. Blackburn 1925-1927

Willie H. Dendy (Supply) 1927

Walter H. Arnold 1927-1928

Burns Gibbs (Supply) 1928

Harry R. Foster 1929-1943


Elders of the Church


John McEntire 1796-

Samuel McKie 1796-

Thomas Mayes 1796-

William Fleming 1796

John Mayes

James H. Glasure

James S. Alexander

John M. Alexander

William F. Neal

Archibald McDonald

John E. Caldwell 1848

William B. Burns

Pierce C. Key 1854-

Daniel Gill Candler 1854-

Lindley A. Baker 1858-

Walter Carson 1859-

James M. Mayes 1859-

Franklin S. Smith 1866-

Sumner J. Smith 1866-

David W. McWhorter 1866-

Joseph W. Cartledge 1866-

James A. Hall

David P. Freeman

Crawford H. Little

T. A. Mayes 1875-

George L. Carson 1877-

James D. Martin 1877-

J. H. Cartledge

David Mitchell Burns

David P. Carson

Thomas M. Henley

E. C. Carson

M. M. Echols

John Irenus Turk

P. N. Little 1934-

William E. Carson

J. R. Brewer

Arthur Little 1922

Hoyt Little 1922-

Omar Bellamy 1922-


Historical Notes on Hebron Presbyterian Church


Memorial Plaque

"First Grave in This Cemetery

E. McWhorter Ash

Born November 20, 1802

Infant Son of

William and J. (Jane) Fleming Ash.


Erected by the children of the late Gabriel S. and Alice Key Martin. 1967"


There are two cemeteries, the oldest contains the family of James McCarter. It is located near the orginal log church site established in 1796.


The first Sunday School in North Georgia was organized in 1819 at Hebron Presbyterian Church by Reverend John Harrison. There were classes for white and black participants and many slaves were taught to read and write. This practice continued until it was halted by the Georgia Legislature prior to the War Between the States.


Hebron Presbyterian Church is listed on the American Presbyterian/Reformed Historical Sites Registry by the Presbyterian Historical Society. All sites considered for the Registry are historically authenticated to the satisfaction of the respectives Presbytery/Classes and of the Historical Sites Commitee of the Historical Society. These sites are unique and related to important events, institutions, and personalities in American Presbyterian/Reformed history.






Source: Presbyterian and Reformed Church, Historical Foundation, Montreat, North Carolina


Copyright 2004 by Jacqueline King