A compendium of useful information about Georgia, needed by every business and professional man in the state, and which is here combined in one handy volume.



Banks County Area and Population:


Population (Total) 11,244 White 8,923 Negro 2,231


Area 216


State Legislature

33rd District-Hall, Banks & Jackson

T. F. Hill, Homer



Western Circuit

Honorable Charles H. Brand, Athens, Judge

Clifford Walker, Monroe, Solicitor

Banks County Court held 3rd Mondays in March and September


Banks County Officials

Ordinary-Logan Perkins, Homer

Sheriff-F. M. Henderson, Homer

Superior Court Clerk-C. A. Meeks, Homer

County Tax Receiver-Horton J. Blackwell, Maysville

Tax Collector-N. Z. Chandler, Commerce RFD 29

County Treasurer-E. S. Carter, Homer

Coroner-H. C. McDonald, Homer

Surveyor-L. N. Turk, Homer

School Commissioner-G. G. Strange, Homer RFD 1



Brown, Oscar

Griffin, A. J.


Post Office

Homer, pop. 228 L. N. Turk, Mayor



Harden, Otho H.

Rice, J. D.


Justices of the Peace

R. A. Wynn, 448, Lula RFD 1

J. A. Hill, 265, Homer

J. A. Martin, 284, Mize RFD

J. B. Hill, 465, Maysville

W. I. Smelley, 1206, Homer RFD 2

J. F. Moss, 1580, Baldwin RFD 1

J. M. O'Dell, 1464, Gillsville

C. N. Crumley, 912, Lula RFD 3

T. J. Weldon, 207, Commerce RFD 29

F. M. Sanders, 208, Commerce RFD 30

D. F. Scales, 1210, Homer RFD 1

John Presley, 371, Baldwin



Source: Georgia Annual, A. B. Caldwell, Publisher, Atlanta Ga. 1912

not copyrighted at the direction of the Publisher



Copy and Copyright 2004 by Jacqueline King